Learning to grow organic

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by nena, May 12, 2008.

1. nena

nena Guest

Are there any courses or garden inside Sydney area that actually teach you to grow organic. I really want to commit to eating organic veggies and fruits but I am a student and can't afford the crazy prices even though I understand why. I figure if I grew them myself it would be cheaper, for sure organic and satisfying! Any suggestions thanks!

2. thepoolroom

thepoolroom Junior Member

Re: Learning to grow organic

I'm not in Sydney, so I'm not sure about courses etc. But I'm sure there'd be something. Try searching out gardening clubs, community gardens, 'green' groups, etc in your local area.

Also, Gardening Australia on ABC TV has a lot of good info. Their web site has lots of past episodes available for download. Check your local library for Gardening Australia magazines and DVDs, and also look for Organic Gardener (also produced by the ABC).

3. Cosmic

Cosmic Junior Member

Start watching gardening Australia every week. It's free and full of information. Read their magazines also, free from a library. Visit a community garden. This is where I learnt from.

4. Loris

Loris Junior Member

Above all, start doing something and give stuff a try. It may fail but you will learn from that and develop your own gardening techniques that suit you, your aims and your lifestyle. Nothing better than having a go and being prepared to accept the bad with the good.

5. Michaelangelica

Michaelangelica Junior Member

There is plenty of info on the web. :study:
    Some links here
    https://hypography.com/forums/earth-scie ... rming.html :computer: :coffee2:

Try joining an Organic Garden Club-or any garden club- that's where I learnt. You are usually treated like Royalty if you are under 40 YO !!! :king: :finga:

it is not that hard if you follow three basic principles:-
    First principle, Use as much organic mater on you soil as possible.