Hello from a teacher in country WA...newbie here!

Discussion in 'General chat' started by sallyjane, Jul 23, 2007.

1. sallyjane

sallyjane New Member

Hi there everyone...I have just been given a Year 10 Science class to teach. I am eager to teach them about permculture, but am wondering if anyone has any ideas as I am not really a Science teacher. Will of course look into what p/c is and the prinicples, however I am not an expert, only an enthusiast...any suggestions would be welcomed wholeheartedly...Thanks!Contact me on [email protected] if you wish... :oops: :D

2. Jackie K

Jackie K Junior Member

Hi Sallyjane and welcome. You don't say where you are in WA, but I'm sure for such a good cause there will be plenty of help offered. If you let people know where you are there could be someone close by that you can visit to get a better picture of what Permaculture is all about. Good books to read on the subject have been listed previously. All the best.
    Jackie K

3. Jez

Jez Junior Member

Welcome sallyjane.

Doing a Permaculture Design Certificate course is the best way to get a good grounding in what Permaculture is all about. It doesn't make you an 'expert', but it's a good start to build from and to ensure you're teaching from a solid knowledge base.

Best of luck with your class.

4. Darcel

Darcel Junior Member

Hello Jackie K

I was farming with my husband in Ogilvie just 25kms north of you.

I'm really looking forward to embracing the concepts of permaculture to improve the soils on our new "piece of dirt".
    The soil here is nowhere as good as that on the farm & will require considerable effort.
    Any advice would be greatly accepted. Thanks & good luck to all.

5. Darcel

Darcel Junior Member

Dear Sallyjane,
    oops ! sorry I neglected to say hello to you in previous post.
    Take care

6. disorderly

disorderly Junior Member

Hi sallyanne,