What issue should the PPP tackle first?

Discussion in 'The big picture' started by ho-hum, May 26, 2007.

1. ho-hum

ho-hum New Member

I have created a new thread to discuss, if there is to be a PPP, what is the first political issue it should tackle? Use this thread or create another rather than fill the 'electoral compliance' thread with political comment.

Also I cannot see any issue with the Greens, the Greens have been around now for 20 years and from my perspective have had every opportunity to tackle permaculture issues but havent. I have never heard one Green politician mention the word 'permaculture'.

It would be great to have a couple of pragmatic permie senators to keep things sustainable. I endorse the creation of this party because I see permies as being very much mainstream. Even in here we have people across the globe in a variety of different social, economic and social situations who all share the common bond of Permaculture.

I am a veteran of a small conservative party that has a number of permie oriented members that has made an impact on how government deals with roads and land use. Not a huge impact but certainly an impact.

Here's something to consider. Recently the ALP in the NT approved the diversion of a big river - the Macarthur River at Borroloola. What a pragmatic permie politician might have done is to approve the diversion but included in it the creation of 400 acres of wetland, 2 permanent lakes, 2 occasional lakes, 3 waterfalls, 4 swimming holes, 6 permanent island habitats etc etc etc..... Maybe not dismiss the project but modify it so that if the river is going to be shifted 5kms then at least get some environmental [both people and animal] benefit from it.

Of note, the Greens were against the project. The ALP were, I believe, financially blackmailed into it. The conservatives were for it.