compost tea

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by digging, Apr 3, 2007.

1. digging

digging Junior Member

Greeting friends!

I sure you've all talked about this in the past but I'm new to it so I thought others might be also! This subject was mentioned in a different post, so I though to just start a new one! I would love to hear from anyone who is using teas and know what they have found!

What ingredients can be used?

Most organic materials can be used to make tea. Teas
    made from animal manures are preferred for some applications
    but other teas also work. We still have a lot to learn
    about ways to brew tea. Some of the materials mentioned
    often are:

animal manure fish emulsion kitchen scraps
    molasses citrus rinds grass clippings
    kelp comfry leaves weeds
    compost mushroom compost nettles
    seaweed worm castings urine
    cider vinegar straw animal bedding

How is compost tea made?

Quick tea can be made by mixing one gallon of finished
    compost with 5 gallons of water and letting sit for 10
    to 14 days. The ideal temperature for this is somewhere
    over 50 degrees. Probably temperatures of 80 degrees would
    reduce the time and increase the fermentation.

Commercial tea production usually requires a tank with
    attached bubbler and enough heat to keep the mixture at
    around 70 degrees. This method requires 2-3 days.

Home brew systems can be much simpler. Any tank
    can be filled with water and a started mixture
    added along with organic matter. In some cases it
    is enough to just dump in organic matter and let
    nature takes its course. This can take months.

A very simple biodigester can be made from two garbage
    cans and works well for small urban sites. It provides
    both compost and tea. This is described at the
    Cornell composting site (see references).

What are some common recipes?

Simple Tea: 1. place aged compost in cloth bag and soak