1. Richard on Maui

Richard on Maui Junior Member

I mentioned in another thread recently that I am about to move to the city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu (I'm going to have to make a new username I guess) and so I have been thinking about the different possibilities for a garden in the city.
    The apartment building we are going to be living in actually has a flat roof, which I guess would make it suitable for gardening on... I have no experience of gardening on a roof though, and would welcome any comments from anyone with exoerience. The little bit of reading I have done indicates that it can be an extreme microclimate up on the roof, very windy and hot. I am more wondering about the challenges of doing it in way that doesn't damage the structure etc...
    I guess I don't know if it is worth trying to convinve the landlord that it would be a good idea. I am sure I would face an uphill battle there. But you never know. They might be sympathetic. Anyway, what are the risks involved? Is it necessary to put some sort of material down that stops the organic matter from breaking down whatever the roof is made out of? Anyone have any clues about this?

2. Jim Bob

Jim Bob Junior Member

I'd recommend gardening in pots, you can put up shadecloth if it's too sunny. This also means less strain on the roof, as you tend to put more plants in a smaller space when using containers. And of course your landlord can't really complain if they're in pots, an hour or so of schlepping back and forth, a bit of a hose-down and scrub, and no-one will ever know there were plants there.

What kind of a roof-top is it? Is it a genuine roof, or a flat floor designed to be walked on? Are there any kind of walls there?

3. hedwig

hedwig Junior Member

in pots or whatever it is first a matter of static - does the roof hold all the weight.