Question about doubt and the future of the world

Discussion in 'The big picture' started by greeny, Dec 10, 2006.

1. greeny

greeny Junior Member

Since I bought this laptop about seven months ago I have been on a huge learning curve about the future of our world.
    Now I find myself not being able to resist mentioning to almost everyone I meet that times are going to change regarding climate, oceans, oil and the economy. It seems to me that there is an urgent need to inform people ( I feel that my own situation is pretty ok for self sufficiency.)

I have bought the videos the Power of Community and The End of Suburbia and intend to show them in town. Fantastic dvds...
    But the responses I get from a lot of people are " Oh we expected the whole system to end 30 years ago and it hasn't......" shrug

They don't believe it will happen and I start to worry that perhaps I am over-reacting. I have my own self doubts because I am new to this information, and have not been reading that much until this year.

Could I be wrong? Is there a way that we have become over pessimistic
    with peak oil?
    By the time it runs out could there will be sufficient alternatives?

Could I be wrong that the economy is heading towards an amazing implosion?

I just told a friends son and his new family that they should try to live in a place which did not depend on fossil fuels for essentials like heating. He didnt want to hear it and I wonder if I am putting people under uneeded stress.
    Help me people do you have doubts too? :)

2. Richard on Maui

Richard on Maui Junior Member

There have been doomsayers forever. The evidence right now however is extrememly compelling that something is going give in a pretty catastrophic way.