Introducing 5mth chook to 6wk chooks

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by crookie, Oct 15, 2006.

1. crookie

crookie Junior Member

Hi all,
    I'm a newbie here, from the Gold Coast, and have been having a ball reading through all the wealth of info on this great forum. I think I could sit here and learn for a year solid before actually starting anything, but that wouldn't be very productive, so we've started in our little corner of the world with a 15 x 3m vege patch and a handful of day old chicks.

I have searched and googled but cannot find the info that I need, so am hoping someone here might point me in the right direction. Our 7 chicks are now 5-6 weeks old and we have just acquired a 5 month old hen who needed a home. We have the 7 in a large run/house at the moment, and the older hen in a separate pen next to that. Obviously there are massive differences in size and we suspect two of the 7 are roosters. What I would like to know is, how and when do we put them in together? Do we need to wait until the 7 are bigger, do we put 2 in with the older one and into a foreign environment... or are we dreaming? :lol: Thanks for reading, and any help you can offer!

Carolyn

2. christopher

christopher Junior Member

Hi Carolyn,

I don't think you'll have any problems with the chooks, with those small numbers the hen will assert dominance over the flock, and that will be it.

If the pens are small, chooks can get unpleasant, b ut usually only at high densities, and when food is scarce, and that is where the problems come in.

Tezza is the man to ask! He has lots of chookie experience.

Nice to meet you!

Christopher

3. hedwig

hedwig Junior Member