Comfrey

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Cornonthecob, Aug 4, 2006.

1. Cornonthecob

Cornonthecob Junior Member

I've finally had luck growing comfrey from root cuttings!

Yes I know it's easy.....is now, wasn't before! lol

But I've also planted a few comfrey seeds...more to see if they would grow. And grow they are...at the moment I'm looking at 30%+ germinating and hopefully more will pop up soon.

Has anyone else growm comfrey by seed?

:)

2. Richard on Maui

Richard on Maui Junior Member

Well done Corny. I have never done comfrey from seed before. Will be interested to hear how fast it establishes compared to vegetative reproduction. I have found that the crown "divisions" seem to make the strongest plants quickest, compared to the slower development of root cuttings.

3. lillypilly

lillypilly Junior Member

we had 3 germinated last year they had differnt flowers (white ones) and flowered later then the root cuttings. leaves seemed to be softer. success rate 10% we got the seeds from diggers club.

4. Cornonthecob

My seeds were from Eden Seeds....will let you know the end germination rate.

5. hedwig

hedwig Junior Member

I grew them by seed but it is slow and a low germination rate. Ans I'm not really shure if all plants are Comfrey (my garden is somewhat chaotic)
    Some are upright perhaps 40 cm high and others are just rosettes on the soil. I read that the plant tend to be weedy, but in my garden at leat not at all, I fond it a bit difficult to grow.

6. FREE Permaculture

FREE Permaculture Junior Member

My seeds struck well but only 2 survived transplant,
    the've grown not so good and have died back in the cold i s'pose.
    But my borage is going great! it's blue flowers have just started and they look fantastic.