Growing Tomatoes???

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Antonino Giglio, Sep 15, 2004.

1. Antonino Giglio

Antonino Giglio Junior Member

Hi guys!!!

At school (Horticulture) our teacher gave us a "recipe" to plant tomatoes.

I'm in Melbourne so mediterranean weather...

His reipe to gro tomatoes is as follow:

1) Mix soil with Dynamic Lifter (500gr per plant)
    2) After 2 weeks add Hydrocomplex (a handfull)
    3) At flowering add Calcium Nitrate
    4) At fruiting add Potassium Nitrate

What do you think about it?

Any suggestions?

Ciaoooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Antonino

2. Veggie Boy

Veggie Boy Junior Member

Antonino - Sounds like a bit of a chemical cocktail.

I'm fairly new to the permie and organic principals myself - being a chemical fertiliser user up until about 18 months ago. I no longer use such fertilisers, though have occasionally used a bit of dynamic lifter - though this will stop once my composting systems are fully functional.

My main source of fertiliser is composted chook manure, liquid fertiliser made from chook manure (used during growth and fruiting cycle) and compost. I also use green manure techniques to improve soil fetility in the crop rotation. My fertiliser choices will only grow as my comfrey plants get bigger and my composting systems become more effective.

Using natural techniques I have grown very healthy, heavy producing tomatos. My only problem with tomatos is the fruit fly which is prevalent in my area of Qld, but that is a different story.

I honestly believe that for a domestic gardener, there should be no need to use the chemical fertilisers that are part of the stated tomato recipe. After all, one of the major reasons fro growing veggies at home is the better tasting, more healthy product that is obtained from using natural methods.