Nitrogen immobilization-can I reverse it?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Squishysquashy, Apr 13, 2017.

1. Squishysquashy

Squishysquashy New Member

Climate:
    NTexas hot summer, hot nights, just hot, xcept when it's not
    Hi, I'm new here, but I need help! I have a business making backyard (or front yard) vegetable gardens and teaching about growing food. It's my first year doing this as a living, but I have been growing food for several years. I have clients with raised beds and other clients with in-ground beds. I think raised beds are too high input unless they are your only choice, but that's what people want. The in-ground beds look great and are productive. The raised beds are sprouting, stalling out, yellowing, and dying. I am fairly certain that the compost I brought in was very unfinished. It is largely wood-based, and is causing nitrogen lock-up. Not even the beans are growing. Is there any way to turn this around? A better question, is there any way to turn this around quickly and get my plants some available nitrogen? It seems like everything I put on there to try and fix it is being used up so quickly that the plants aren't getting any.

2. Ian

Ian New Member

Climate:
    Temperate
    I am no expert, but the best way I found to add nitrogen is lots of greens, ie lawn clippings, and the like

3. Squishysquashy

Squishysquashy New Member

Climate:
    NTexas hot summer, hot nights, just hot, xcept when it's not
    That's the problem, every form of nitrogen I put on there gets used up so fast by the microbes that the plants can't get any. At least that's what I think is happening... I have read that too much fresh green matter worked into the soil causes a temporary nitrogen immobilization as well. I wish I could know how long it will take to fix this.

Ian likes this.
  4. Ian

Ian New Member

Climate:
    Temperate