Help with Balcony Garden

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by NewbieFarmer, Jul 9, 2016.

1. NewbieFarmer

NewbieFarmer New Member

Climate:
    Tropical
    Hello All,

Wonderful forum here!!

I am Rohan from Mumbai, India. I recently decided to utilize my small terrace Balcony to grow some microgreens and Veggies. Since this is my first attempt at growing things in pots and small trays, I decided to use Coco peat and some vermicompost as a growing medium. I used Coco Peat:Vermicompost in 1:1 ratio.My first try was with Alfalfa which sprouted really well in 2 trays. After about 5 days when they were about and inch & half tall they started to wither and die. It happened over night and there were no visible signs of any distress to the sprouts the previous night. The next morning they were all flat on their sides and dead.

My second try was with cucumber and lettuce in pots. Both of them sprouted very well but met with the same fate in about a week. They just fell flat on the side and died. Same happened to tomato seedlings. I was really not sure why everything was dying in a week's time. My local nursery guy suggested I add some soil. I dug up everything and added some soil. I gave everything a try again but alas!!. yet another time Alfalfa, cucumber, tomatoes and lettuce died in a week.

I have no clue why & what is happening although I suspect that there is something wrong with the vermicompost i bought. When i dig up the soil mixture, I can see quite a few very tiny worms wriggling around. While I know that some kinds of microbes, bacteria, worms are good for the soil, I do not know what to make of these tiny white worms. I also suspect that the vermicompost may not have been fully cured i.e the composting process is still on and the ongoing reaction in the soil is what is responsible for the death of my seedlings.