mango tree

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by dreuky, Aug 29, 2015.

1. dreuky

dreuky Junior Member

Read that you can grow them & get fruit in South Aust. Anyone had any experience ? I seriously love mangos so thought I would give it a go. We have very few frosts here. Maybe 1 in the middle of winter. The trouble would be that our block is very open & flat & we do get a fair bit of wind.

2. Pakanohida

Pakanohida Junior Member

I am curious about them as well. I am wondering if I can keep them small and over winter them in my greenhouse.

3. dreuky

dreuky Junior Member

As far as I know mango trees are pretty big but I guess you could bonsai a mango tree to whatever size would fit into your hot house. The only supplier that I have found in SA is rather expensive, but I think I might give it a go.

4. Diggman

Diggman Junior Member

Climate:
    Temperate, always cloudy, lots of rain (& slugs)
    Im no expert in this subject but can add in that someone I know suxessfully overwinters an ornamental citrus without even a greenhouse or polytunnel / cold frame, she just asks me to shift it under a large camelia on her terrace then out again a meter or so away in mid to late spring ... and this is in London UK! It may be a hardy variety though but still goes to show. Im pretty sure in Aus. You should have luck with mangoes :)

5. dreuky

dreuky Junior Member