Small group from rural Missouri

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by ronnon, Jul 7, 2015.

1. ronnon

ronnon Junior Member

The short version. I have owned my own independent diesel repair shop for 5 years. I have been in the industry for 20 years. I have a degree from OSU and worked my way to general manager of service with in a Caterpillar dealer. Five years ago I left the corporate life style and moved back home to open my own shop. I work on 1 ton pickups up to class 8 trucks, with some tractors and heavy equipment thrown in there every now and again.

My shop has a huge lot attached to it that I own, and it does nothing but grow weeds and saplings. I have an ample amount of water flow on and to it, as my shop and the parking lot both drain into it. I came upon permaculture sometime ago, however only recently have I began to challenge my own perceptions and dogmas. I began diving deeper into permaculture and enlisted some friends who are also small business owners to help me.

Our group formed from like minded small business owners who recognize the failings in our current paradigm. We are currently planning a couple of projects. The first being my lot. We plan on building a community area with cob stove and benches surrounded by a food forest. This project and its yields will be completely free for public access during the day. This project site will be about 20000 sq ft. I'll repost exact specs when I post our pics. The aim of this project is to simply provide a place for our community to be exposed to and immersed in permaculture. The location is in town and will probably stretch the city ordinances pretty hard, so that part might be interesting. That leads us to the second project, in the county...where there are no ordinances.