Hello, looking for hope, long horror story follows...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Gourmet Garden, Dec 19, 2014.

1. Gourmet Garden

Gourmet Garden Junior Member

Hi,

I'm completely new to Permaculture, but I'm afraid I've started off very, very badly...

I moved into a new house a few years ago. The soil in my back garden was very good, but the soil in my front garden was completely compacted (probably by heavy machinery as the house was being built). Nothing would grow there. I dug a small hole into the ground, and found that the drainage was so bad that it would still be a puddle 2 days after some heavy rain, and then when it was dry, the ground would crack open. I tested the soil and the pH was 8.5!

I hated this front garden soil with determination and I have spent the last 2 years digging it all up (I couldn't build raised beds as the garden beds were adjacent to driveways and off-street car parking spaces, and any car doors would bang against raised garden bed walls). After 2 years of back-breaking digging, I had dug out the soil in all my front garden beds to a depth of 45 to 60cm. My front garden looked like an open mine with pits everywhere instead of garden beds. But, by the time the digging was finally all finished, weeds had grown up in the pits that I had dug out earlier. So, I sprayed (?bombed?) the whole area every weedkiller and herbicide I could lay my hands on, including so-called yearly garden path clearers.

In hindsight, I may have been somewhat over-zealous.

As the weeds died, I filled in the garden pits with sulphur (to lower the pH of the underlying soil), lucerne straw bales, composted cow manure, composted pine bark, more composted cow manure, and covered everything with tea tree mulch. I didn't add any actual soil because I've heard too many horror stories of garden supply stores delivering nasty, toxic stuff as "loamy garden topsoil".