Resusitating degraded soil. input required

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Krankieone, Mar 9, 2014.

1. mouseinthehouse

mouseinthehouse Junior Member

Why would I expend time and money when in our case there was absolutely no need. We don't have to spend a cent feeding our four horses as a result at any time. Nor do I have to spend time moving them about from one paddock to another. This has been accomplished by simply allowing 40 acres to recover with zero intervention and then stocking it appropriately from there on. End of story. That is what worked for us. I don't need a PDC to observe things on my own property. Although I have a Bachelor of Biological Science which comes in handy.

Another 60 acres of our property is set aside for conservation under an agreement with the government and phenomenal natural re-vegetation is happening and increasing bio-diversity of flora and fauna is occurring with zero intervention there either. The only area we add inputs is our food forest/vegetable garden. There I use the KISS principle as well. We must be doing something right because instead of spending $200 a week on food which would be an average spend here and what we used to do....we now spend about $40 - 60 and that includes feeding 4 dogs and 5 cats and poultry.

By all means people can design their places to be managed intensively or less intensively. Each site has a different 'requirement' depending on a multitude of factors. We do what works on this place for us for what we want to achieve. Certainly I do not appreciate ANYONE coming along and telling me I don't know what I'm talking about. That is utterly ridiculous and insulting and plain arrogant.

2. matto

matto Junior Member