plants, shrubs, trees that are acidifiers?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by songbird, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Rick Larson

Rick Larson Junior Member

Good grief. I read a few pages, but since I am unfamiliar with the terms, my eyes started to cross. I'm still learning how to compost for crying out loud! So I will wait on NG to baby my way through.

2. mouseinthehouse

mouseinthehouse Junior Member

Sorry Rick! I know it's a scientific paper so it's heavy going. I had to do this stuff for 'Plant Structure and Function' a second year Biology unit. Bored me witless I have to confess. But it really is actually incredible the relationships between these plants and fungi and bacteria. :)

3. Gonhar

Gonhar Junior Member

I was always told that pine needles acidifed the soil, so I looked around and found this.

Effects of Organic Mulches in Soil

Organic mulches, derived from plant material, will decompose in time and enrich and improve the soil. This results in increased aeration of silt or clay loam soils and added water-holding capacity of sandy loam soils. Mulching improves and stabilizes soil structure (arrangement of soil particles) by reducing the impact of rain, weight (people walking on the soil) and cultivation of soils, especially when wet. In short, compaction of the soil is reduced.

The pH (acidity or alkalinity) of soil can be changed depending on the mulch selected. For example, most composts will be slightly alkaline (pH greater than 7) and excellent for use in acidic soil regions, while continuous use of oak leaves, pine needles, pine bark and sphagnum peat moss will increase acidity. The breakdown products of leaves, including oak leaves, will be alkaline, but continuous use of oak, pine and sphagnum peat moss products will keep the soil surface acidic (pH less than 7).

So having pines around could be a source of acidifying mulch for acid loving plants.

https://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/1000/1083.html

4. Unmutual