Hugelkulture in the subtropics?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by Shell, Dec 17, 2013.

1. Shell

Shell Junior Member

Hi all, I'm in the process of planning my food forrest on my new property. It's in the Mary Vally, QLD, Australia. The climate is sub-tropic.

I am hoping to establish a food garden that needs no irrigation. I'm only going to be on the property on weekends and the garden needs to be able to look after itself.

So I read a lot about hugelkultures and I very much like it. BUT - do I need to worry about the heat that gets generated inside the decomposing hugel? It seems that huegelkultures are a great way to grow in countries that get frost. But what about the sub-tropics? Will the temperatures in my pile start to cook the roots of my plants?
    I'm thinking to plant most of my fruit trees in hugels. Has anyone done it in my climate zone?

2. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

I have no experience with them personally. I question whether hugelkultur is a solution for a specific problem you have or just a cool technique that you want to try out. There's nothing wrong with trying out cool new techniques but you need to do it as an experiment (i.e. not do the whole farm!) and be prepared for unmitigated and spectacular failure.

Planting in between the mounds would be the best way to go for fruit trees as the tops of the mounds will be driest. If the mounds are tall enough and have good plant coverage then the inter mound valley will be shaded and protected from winds that will evaporate soil moisture.

Do consider going with swales and key line instead as these are established approaches for water retention in the subtropics. Take a look at Tom Kendall's place in Kin Kin - lots of swales as an example of how to make it successful in your climate.

3. Shell

Shell Junior Member