Eradicating Poison Ivy

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by elizabeth, Jan 19, 2004.

1. elizabeth

elizabeth Junior Member

Hello everyone,

I am looking for ways to eradicate poison ivy using children friendly processes. In other words I do not want to use pesticides, but am interested any companion plant combinations or other methods.

Any information is appreciated!!

Elizabeth

2. muttabuttasaurus

muttabuttasaurus Junior Member

I have no personal experience of poison ivy AT ALL, but aren't goats famed to be capable of eating it? If your children and your goats can make friends, how about goats?

3. Mont

Mont Junior Member

G'day. Here's some info from a UK site called Plants for a Future (https://www.comp.leeds.ac.uk/cgi-bin/pfaf/arr). Maybe if you do the opposite of what it likes you might damage the bugger, although it seems pretty versatile. Sorry I can't advise on how to infect it with coral spot fungus, or even if that's a good idea! Good luck.
    Mont

'The plant prefers light (sandy), medium (loamy) and heavy (clay) soils and requires well-drained soil. The plant prefers acid, neutral and basic (alkaline) soils. It cannot grow in the shade. It requires moist soil. It has brittle branches and these can be broken off in strong winds. Plants are also susceptible to coral spot fungus'.

4. elizabeth

elizabeth Junior Member

thanks for the ideas!

i've been looking at a few other forums and it looks like sunflowers might help. apparently they have allelopathic qualities that many plants don't like.

cheers!

5. Mont

Mont Junior Member

Sunflowers are hungry feeders so they compete well against other plants but I haven't noticed the plants around ours suffering particularly. The beans use them to climb on. Still, you can give them a try. If worst comes to worst they look great in your garden so you've lost nothing.

6. vix

vix Junior Member