Introduction

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by mark anstice, Jul 8, 2013.

1. mark anstice

mark anstice Junior Member

Hello Everyone

My wife and I are building a house in a beautiful little rural community in Morocco, on the Atlantic coast just north of Essaouira and want to set up a perma-culture centre there with our neighbours. It's a tall order as I am new to perma-culture but I think with your community behind us we can do it. My own perma-culture experience is confined to only part of a course run by Darren Doherty in Ibiza 2 years ago so I'm going to be asking for a ton of advice.

Agriculture there is of the donkey drawn plough variety and what little rainfall there ever was is becoming less and less. Our neighbours scratch a small personal store of wheat and veg from the fields each winter, relying on goats for any income. It's the usual story: the up and coming generation don't want to herd goats anymore and they don't see a lot of future in their soil. After harvesting, the last thing they do is turn the goats onto the fields to strip them bare before the summer sun and wind go to work and in the autumn they start again with donkey manure and phosphorous. Unless there's a very heavy rain shower only the roof-fed cisterns capture any of the annual precipitation; the hillside fed ones stay empty.

I think it's a perfect place for a research centre and I can think of no better use for the building we have laboured over than to eventually play host to students from near and far. I also see my own future as being irrevocably wrapped up in permaculture and would love to get to the stage of teaching one day, so I'm really looking forward to being part of your community.

Very best to all

Mark

2. Devendra

Devendra Junior Member

Hello Mark,