When a bank refuses to give you your money.

Discussion in 'News from around the damp planet' started by CraigMackintosh, Jan 25, 2014.

1. CraigMackintosh

CraigMackintosh *****

What would you do?

Some HSBC customers have been prevented from withdrawing large amounts of cash because they could not provide evidence of why they wanted it, the BBC has learnt.

Stephen Cotton went to his local HSBC branch this month to withdraw £7,000 from his instant access savings account to pay back a loan from his mother.

A year before, he had withdrawn a larger sum in cash from HSBC without a problem.

But this time it was different, as he told Money Box: "When we presented them with the withdrawal slip, they declined to give us the money because we could not provide them with a satisfactory explanation for what the money was for. They wanted a letter from the person involved."

[...]

Mr Cotton cannot understand HSBC's attitude: "I've been banking in that bank for 28 years. They all know me in there. You shouldn't have to explain to your bank why you want that money. It's not theirs, it's yours." - https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-25861717

2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
    Close the account. Put money in a local credit union. Avoid banks at all costs!

3. Rick Larson

Rick Larson Junior Member

I don't think that story is going to go over too well. People are going to dwell on the down markets all weekend, and now this... Market is down, bills are up, and you can't get at your money in the bank. Cracks are appearing in the system!

4. songbird

songbird Senior Member

gardening, reading, etc
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    -15C-35C, 10cm rain/mo, clay, full sun, K-G Dfa=x=Dfb