Permaculture bashing

Discussion in 'The big picture' started by Tim Auld, May 31, 2009.

1. nate_taylor

nate_taylor Junior Member

Re: Permaculture bashing

I like this thread, a lot.

There is no permanent culture and there never could be. Life is no more permanent than a dream. I think the best we can do is to keep a positive intention in this dream and keep going.

I'm a student of Tibetan Buddhism, and at one of our Dharma centers in the US we have hosted a couple of PDC's. We are implementing "Permaculture" on our different lands, which we are blessed to have a lot of. But in general the other Buddhists are pretty skeptical. I see a doubt within myself, and project this onto others, that there's a constant rift between the Buddhist point of view and Permaculture, namely attachment to results. We can be proud of how efficient our activities are and how much suffering we are preventing, but none of it will last. None of our gardening will lead to permanent happiness, only more of the same.

I really empathize with Bill Mollison's sentiments about humanity. There's faith there but it's balanced by awareness of our relentless stupidity. Not that we shouldn't try, just not taking things so seriously. :butthead:

2. buff orpington

buff orpington Junior Member

hey nate, did you spend time at geoff lawtons property at the end of '99 start of '00 with a couple named andy and marnie?

3. bernado soares

bernado soares Junior Member