How do you make a fence?

Discussion in 'Designing, building, making and powering your life' started by Nathan Edwards, Feb 15, 2006.

1. Nathan Edwards

Nathan Edwards Junior Member

Hey guys, my design for my 10 acres in Caslemaine is not really happening yet so putting up a fence maybe premature if there is to be any serious earthworks on site (no doubt their will be!). However I came upon 80 star pickets, an awful lot of high tensile galvanised barb wire and non barbed wire and treated (I know, I know) strainer posts (20 I think) from an old farmer retiring to the burbs from his cattle farm in Baxter on the Mornington peninsula. All free!!! and I'm goin' back for more in a few days. Chook feeders, troughs, sewerage quality piping and the rest. Excited!!
    Deep breath.. Anyway; how do you build a fence? :? :lol:
    Any links, tips or just the general 'well you first have to secure your winched carple Mc-jingle thingy in the hoosy-whats'it.
    Help me I'm a musician :?: :dontknow: :rock:

2. derekh

derekh Junior Member

3. bazman

bazman Junior Member

If you are going to have horses, don't use barb wire, I can't stress that enough.

Barb wire is only meant for cattle and their thick cowhide, horses have thin skin like us. Also if your using pickets around horses white cap them all as the tops are often shape enough to rip open a horses belly.

Using Barb wire low on the fence will catch wildlife as it moves through your property.

Buy/borrow a proper stake sliding hammer, rural hardware stores will have them. see if you can get a hole digging spade, they work well.

Put some posts in the line 4 pickets 1 post, spaced 4m apart, this will make the fence stronger and use good strainers at the ends of the fences.

Put the fence posts in a few days after good rain, the soil will be softer and easier to dig and hammer into.

String line the fence line to get it straight too.

4. teela

teela Junior Member

fencing