Brush chipping for permaculture

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by Treehuggingtreecutter, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Treehuggingtreecutter

Treehuggingtreecutter New Member

I am a tree service contractor based in Sonoma County, California. As in many areas of California and in Mediterranean climates around the world, forest fires are a tremendous threat to soils, forest canopy coverage and human safety.

I believe the best way to manage our forested landscape is through hand crews and light equipment while maintaining organic material on site, rather than heavy machinery with biomass harvesting or fire to reduce fuel loads.

So far as I know I am the first person to create and implement this kind of appropriate technology for forest management and I would like to show off my equipment so that others may copy me.

This is my first video, others will be following soon.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2LW-SXSLrI

I hope this thread leads to discussion, I am new to studying permaculture and I look forward to connecting with like minded people.

2. permasculptor

permasculptor Junior Member

Took me a while to get my head around your version of light equipment. but well done that thing is cool.I love the way it vomits chips.
    Welcome to Permaculture.

3. ecodharmamark

ecodharmamark Junior Member

G'day Matthew

Welcome to the PRI Forum.

The work that you are doing is very important. Sonoma County (like many/much of Australia's 'dry sclerophyll' forests/woodlands) is susceptible to wildfire. This is nothing new. These woody biomass regions have evolved with fire for eons. What is new is that in the last few hundred years, humans have decided to live (build houses) within the 'firezone', and in the last 22-30 years especially, they have done so with little recognition of the danger.