My Life, My Direction

Discussion in 'General chat' started by insipidtoast, Sep 21, 2009.

1. insipidtoast

insipidtoast Junior Member

Hello,

My name's Scott, I was born and raised in the sunny town of Santa Barbara, California. I discovered the joy of gardening when I was 16, and within the next year had discovered permaculture. But enough with the blah, blah background, biographical info... In December of 2008 I graduated from Santa Barbara City College with an AS degree in Environmental Horticulture. I've worked for a California Rare Fruit Growers' member on his orchard, and also at the world famous, Ganna Walska Lotusland...but enought blah blah biographical backround info...I mean business!

Right now I'm in the Basque Country improving both my Basque and Spanish. By only studying the Basque language, I have nearly received a minor from the University of Nevada at Reno. Although I have a passion for languages, I have a bigger passion for permaculture and the natural world, but I'm worried my decision to study in the Basque Country is going to force me to study at UNR upon returning to the United States. I don't see UNR as a school which can teach me something to get me closer to my life goal.

I am very goal-oriented... Excerpt from last month's goal writing exercise:
    "I live in a food forest which I built with friends and we share the abundance and are not dependent on mainstream society. I have a vast, comprehensive knowledge about edible, medicinal and nutrient-fixing plants in a wide variety of climates, and understand how these plants interact with each other to create stable (egonkor), productive (emankor), sustainable (iraunkor) food forests. I research plants and designs for specific regions, and I travel to those regions to implement the designs. I build food forests all over the world."

I will stop at NOTHING to attain this reality.