Just joined and wanted to say hi...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by eco_dreamer, Feb 1, 2011.

1. eco_dreamer

eco_dreamer Junior Member

:hi: Well, I only discovered this forum the other day and I must say I'm mighty impressed.

As a bit of a background, I'm a wife and mum of 2 little girls (2.5 and 18m) living in Brisbane's northern suburbs. Its our dream to one day buy a block of land and build our own house......have some chooks, maybe a house cow or some goats, grow our own fruit & vegies and be as sustainable as we possibly can.

We are still looking for that 'magical' block of land but arent entirely sure where to start. What region or community, how much land, what type of soil????

I'm only very very new to this permaculture idea but really love how it works.

If you'd care to share some tips and info, books and websites for beginners, I'd be very greatful.

many thanks

Rachel

2. MFox

MFox Junior Member

Hi!
    Welcome. I am relatively new on this forum too.
    Great dream- my fiance and I are planning on doing the exact same thing in NSW. Great to hear of more people doing it!
    Good luck!
    Mishi

3. ecodharmamark

ecodharmamark Junior Member

G'day Rachel

Welcome to the PRI Forum.

In my line of work/study, I get asked these very same questions on an almost daily basis. Generally, my initial response is always the same:

At the bare minimum, get a hold of the following (larger libraries should have at least one of) and have a good read:

Buying your bush block
    Buying a bush block in Queensland: A guide to help you make the right decision
    What they didn't tell you about buying a bush block

While the above may be a little dated in terms if legislation (I'll get around to writing up-to-date titles in a similar vein - one for each state/territory - one day...), the overall message is clear: Do your homework!