How much does it cost to do the right thing?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by sbrokvam, Aug 1, 2010.

1. sbrokvam

sbrokvam Junior Member

I'm a teacher and have just become advisor for an enviro group at school. The kids in ECo (Environmental Council, or, as they call it, The Hippie Club) decided Green Week, Meatless Monday and other awareness-raising is fine, but wanted to do something hands-on as well. They're keen to have a vegie patch at school, but decided tree planting would be a safe first start..

I know little about tree planting schemes in Queensland, and was wondering if you have any good tips on where to go and who to ask? Is there a particular body that regulates such initiatives? Do you actually have to pay lots to buy seedlings, or is there funding for this if you provide many willing hands?

Thanks,
    Ståle

2. sun burn

sun burn Junior Member

I think its great the kids want to do something like that but i wish you'd go back to the vege patch idea rather than tree planting. It's too easy to shove a tree in the ground and then forget about it whereas growing veges requires an ongoing commitment and the rewards are greater in the short term. I've done both - planted a ton of trees and now I'm growing veges. Growing veges has the potential to give the kids a love of gardening and appreciation of producing their own food. I think on the whole its a far healthier approach to take for kids. Growing things is such a healing thing to do. Growing trees is good too but as i said, its easy to detach after the tree is in the ground.

3. sbrokvam

sbrokvam Junior Member