Ask the butcher

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by butchasteve, Apr 9, 2010.

1. butchasteve

butchasteve Junior Member

Someone mentioned they had a question or two to ask me as a butcher.. May as well throw the forum open to any queries for better methods etc. I am also a bit of an expert at ham/bacon curing, although most places require me to use nitrates.

First rule:

VERY sharp knives required.. buy quality knives and a quality steel, and steel your knife regularly (every couple of minutes or so when working).

Protect your equipment, get a block or a knife bag, any bumps ruins your edge..

2. permasculptor

permasculptor Junior Member

I can only get bacon treated with nitrates or the organic option is done in a brine which results in a very salty finished product surely there is a better way?

3. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

How do I find a local butcher that actually butchers whole animals? It seems to me that there are a limited number of cuts of meat available from my local friendly butcher, and not all that many options of animals. I keep asking about goat to be told either no or frozen mince.
    I like the approach that you should use all of the beast, but short of growing my own beast and butchering it myself (or inviting Steve over for a BBQ and a beer....) I can't achieve this in the 'burbs.
    And what actually is in that bacon and ham that I love so much?

4. butchasteve

lets face it, nitrates are crappy for you, i am sure of that. look for dry cured bacon, hard to find and expensive, but thats the way it is traditionally meant to be done

kill/buy your own pork then cure it yourself.

firstly, if you prefer streaky bacon, it'll be much cheaper. Ask your butcher for a boneless pork belly. if not a whole boneless pork loin with the tail (belly) should weigh around 7kg or so, costing about $100 - $200 depending on price/quality.