From here to there and back again

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by sbrokvam, Dec 1, 2009.

1. sbrokvam

sbrokvam Junior Member

I've posted a bit here on the forum over the last couple of months, but not actually introduced myself properly yet. Manners...tsk, tsk - well, here's me and how I came to permaculture:

I'm a Norwegian living in Australia. I studied philosophy back in the early nineties, focusing on environmental philosophy: Arne Næss (originator of "deep ecology"), David Suzuki and various more traditional philosophers... I never heard of permaculture at the time, but reading E.F. Schumacher and Næss introduced me to basically the same ethical positions.

I know Al Gore cops a lot of flack, but his 2006 movie actually reminded me of a lot of things I'd kind of forgotten about. See, back then at uni I recycled, ate vegetarian, donned a beard and endlessly discussed the ills of industrial society over countless cups of herbal tea. With a few like-minded friends I even considered buying a farm and living off the land. That particular (probably rather escapist) impulse never led anywhere, but we really didn't know the first thing about farming anyway, so for all the little lambies we didn't end up neglecting, that was probably a good thing.

Things changed quickly, what with marriage, kids, work, etc, and suddenly international travel and work as well, and as I got busy all the stuff about Limits to Growth and the Coming End of Industrial Society kind of faded into the background for me. I worked in IT and I lived in Australia and Asia for a while, and have now settled in SE Queensland for good.