Anyone here use the " Back To Eden" gardening method..

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by rod champion, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Pakanohida

Pakanohida Junior Member

I am in agreement with my Surgeon Colleague.

When I started learning about the massive inputs of organic matter in the US prior to European colonization in "Edible Forest Gardens Vol1" I was utterly dumbfounded by the sheer amount of waste animals would drop into a forest. Picture if you will a flock of pigeons what is so thick it blots out the sun, then they all roost for an hour or so evacuating their bowels to the forest floor. Audobun found as much as 3" of bird waste dropped in a single sitting by the pigeons.

Think about that a moment... so much life it obscures the vision of the sun, then suddenly 3" of white poop all over a forest floor. That signals to me that organic matter can be handled by a healthy forest in very large amounts. However the area needs to be healthy, and that is pretty rare on Earth now.

2. Finchj

Finchj Junior Member

The EFG books are full of amazing information aren't they? I use the second volume constantly and have started rereading the first, although I'm interrupted at the moment with "Teaming with Microbes." Which is good, but I'm actually surprised at how much was covered in my other materials (that and some of their recommendations I cringe at, like replacing your soil!). Anyway...

I too agree with the Dirt Surgeon. One reason we did use fertilizer was the speed. Our P levels were so low that they are in danger of falling off the chart. We thought the benefits out weighed the costs at that point. However, we do have a considerable amount of our site left that has not been amended with either lime or fertilizer. We will be seeding those with a laundry list of native nitrogen fixers and some more dynamic accumulators. Rod, if you want to see a list of what we ordered to get an idea as to what is supposed to thrive here, you can click this link.