Humanure from an 'organic' septic tank

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by John Gabriel Otvos, Aug 22, 2018.

1. John Gabriel Otvos

John Gabriel Otvos New Member

Climate:
    6a North Mtn side forest micro clime, Annapolis Valley, NS
    Hello, My name is John. Yes, I'm new here, but, not new to a whole foods plant-based diet. In NS, we can have a grey water system and composting toilets, but, they must be secondary to a regular septic tank and tile system. My guess is that Kings Cty wants resale with no problems. The concept of permaculture is interesting to me, as I've been eating almost entirely organic for 15 years and solely whole plants for the past 7.

Q: If I was to dip a bucket into my septic tank how would I use the mix? I use rotating compost piles covered with earth for heat generation. I have 26 raised beds as there was no soil here on the side of the mountain once a level building site was created. The beds are 2' high and mostly 4' x 8' from local Tamarack. Plants love deep soil. The beds are never walked in and winter rye is turned under each year. The soil is rich and fertile but with few worms. No animal manure is used.

An image of this garden can be found at the top of the page here: https://johnotvos.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/garlic-adventures/

songbird likes this.
  2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
    Welcome John,
    Have you read the Humanure Handbook? It's available online for free here: https://humanurehandbook.com/contents.html (click on the .pdf portion of each chapter in the table of contents)
    This chapter is especially relevant to your question: https://humanurehandbook.com/downloads/Chapter_5.pdf