Hi from Logan Queensland

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by Colin Westwood, Oct 28, 2017.

1. Colin Westwood

Colin Westwood New Member

Climate:
    SUB TROPICAL
    Greetings all. I'm a retired organic farmer, health care worker, Permaculture practitioner, low tech designer and researcher. My 800 sq m block houses me and over 100 fruit and nut trees along with under-story, and ground cover plants. My little 1960s era railway cottage has over 4 kw of solar PVs sending power to the grid and another stand alone 24 V system hooked up to a 5 kw inverter that powers the entire house most of the time.

I have also designed and built a 1 cubic m capacity bio gas plant for around $100 that powers a gas stove and provides high quality liquid fertilizer. It's based upon a recycled 1000 litre IBC plastic container, a recycled toiled pedestal, half inch black plastic irrigation pipe and a queen size airbed to store the gas.

I built a small high temperature bio-char plant using some simple bits, including a recycled stainless steel treddle bin for the burner and a 44 gallon steel drum to extinguish the burn. Bio-char mixed together with the bio-gas liquid fertilizer gives you activated bio-char.

Transport is provided by a recycled lithium battery bank of batteries built to provide about a 60 km range between recharges on my converted push bike, when I'm not walking or using public transport.

Overseas experience includes building a clivus multrum dry composting loo for a school on Pentacost Island in Vanuatu, bio-gas plants around Queensland and Thailand, wood fired dome style Pizza ovens, and I have worked as a sustainable development advisor in Vietnam for an NGO among other things. I also keep, breed, and rescue native stingless bees.

Did a Permaculture Design Cert course at Northey Street Brisbane some years ago, but knew Bill from the early days in Uki NSW where I was a founding member and resident of a small 'intentional' community for 14 years.