Making the Move to Macedon Ranges, Victoria, Aust

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by dynnyrne, May 16, 2016.

1. dynnyrne

dynnyrne New Member

Climate:
    Warm and Temperate
    Hi!

I'm currently living in the US but will be moving back to our home in Melbourne next year. We really want to own our own "hobby farm" and I'm a permaculture newbie trying to learn what we'll need to get our little haven set up.

Looking forward to chatting with you all :)

2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
    Hi Dynnyrne,
    Where are you located in the US? Check out the Permaculture Global site to find others near Melbourne. Have you seen Geoff Lawton's video about choosing a Permaculture property?

3. dynnyrne

dynnyrne New Member

Climate:
    Warm and Temperate
    Thanks Bill. We're living outside of San Francisco at the moment.
    Yes, I've watched that Geoff Lawton video- I'm still left with many questions though!

4. 9anda1f

Climate:
    Would love to discuss this and any questions you have!

From my perspective, water source would be of primary importance ... this coming from someone who purchased a property in a semi-arid climate. We've come a long way towards independence from our well (bore), but the relatively flat topography here coupled with an extended dry season has made establishing water flow through the property challenging.
    Which brings me to my second primary concern: topography. I would select a property with significant (although not excessive) topography. This would help provide watershed areas as well as inherent micro-climates. Selecting for "good" topography will also minimize the expensive earthworks often necessary on flatter ground.

Thoughts?

5. dynnyrne

dynnyrne New Member

Climate:
    Warm and Temperate
    Sounds good. So essentially you're saying if it doesn't have a creek or spring for example then forget it? I've noticed most blocks are fairly dry.